Friendships

As I have gotten older and hopefully wiser, I have grown to realize that women friends are difficult at best to find, and harder to keep. We come with alot of baggage.

I am fortunate in my life to have met and retained some wonderful relationships with women.
There is a “Golden Rule” however, “What Happens in Vegas Stays in Vegas”. No matter how angry we can be at each other and sometimes this will happen, as we are not Saints. We argue, fight, quarrel, spat, spit and yell…..BUT, unlike the times we recall a miniscule event that happened 20 years ago to our partners, we never throw anything in the face of our friends. That’s what defines my term of WOMAN POWER. There is nothing like it. So for those of you who have it, treasure it, and for those of you who have not yet established these bonds, hold tight. Eventually it will happen, but do not grasp. It may not be the right fit. INTERVIEW!!!!

So keeping on this forum, I have a question to all of you.
When speaking with a great friend and they always speak about tradgedies or unpleasantries which do not pertain to themselves or their families,do we as friends, have the right to cut them off knowing that the conversation is headed south or do we keep quiet and listen to these upsets??????

On a different note, Nordstrom Off the Rack has good deals on current sleepwear. Items found in major deaprtment stores are way cheaper….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friendships

  1. maia says:

    Yes, I consider myself very fortunate as well to have amazing female (and male) friends! You are one of them!

    To “interview” others for establishing close friendships is not for me! You have chemistry with the person (female/male) or not! Let’s leave interviews for employers or other formal establishments not for potential friends

    To answer your question regarding listening stories told by your “great friend” about others’ (not friends) “tragedies or unpleasantries”, I would say depends how does it relate to your friend. Of course if it happens “always” then you can let your friend know about your thoughts/feelings after she/he finishes the story without cutting her/him off

    BTW, love reading your blogs, they are funny, informative and thought provoking

    • marshaw60 says:

      Thank you for commenting as now I know I am not writing to myself…
      I agree that chemistry is most important, but for me the word “Interview” has an edge to it and makes one think out of the box.
      Friends listen, comfort and cradle the their hurt, and tell them what needs to be heard to get them to a better playing field. I applaud the Women Power…

  2. maia says:

    Yes, I consider myself very fortunate as well to have amazing female (and male) friends! You are one of them!

    To “interview” others for establishing close friendships is not for me! You have chemistry with the person (female/male) or not! Let’s leave interviews for employers or other formal establishments not for potential friends 🙂

    To answer your question regarding listening stories told by your “great friend” about others’ (not friends) “tragedies or unpleasantries”, I would say depends how does it relate to your friend. Of course if it happens “always” then you can let your friend know about your thoughts/feelings after she/he finishes the story without cutting her/him off 🙂

    BTW, love reading your blogs, they are funny, informative and thought provoking!

Leave a Reply

